Skip to main content

2016 SCDTSEA Conference Details

The 2016 SCDTSEA Conference will be held on Friday, November 18, 2016 in Blythewood, SC at the SCDMV Building. The theme will be Distracted Driving.

Download the conference registration form.

Download an SCDTSEA membership application.

Download the conference poster contest details.

Conference Schedule

7:15 a.m. - 8:00Exhibitors/Vendors set-up
7:30 - 8:30Registration & Visiting Exhibits
8:30 - 8:45Welcome, Invocation, and Pledge of Allegiance
Presiding Officer: David Smith, President, SCDTSEA
Dr. Albert Neal, Chaplain, SCDTSEA
Ms. Dixie McNair, Board Member, SCDTSEA
8:45 - 9:00Greetings
Mr. Karl McClary, Inspector General, SCDMV
9:00 - 9:30Business Meeting, part 1
Election of SCDTSEA Officers & Board Members: Mr. Andrew Johnson, President-Elect, SCDTSEA
Installation of Officers: Dr. Albert Neal, Chaplain
9:30 - 10:15Parents' Role in Driver Education/Training
Andy Pilgrim, Expert Driver Trainer
10:15 - 10:25Break: Visit Exhibits and Check Door Prizes Booth
10:25 - 10:55Tips/Reminders for Driver Education Teachers
Dr. Harry Stille, Driver Education Professor, Erskine College, Due West, SC
10:55 - 11:10Awards & Presentation
Mr. David Smith, President, SCDTSEA
11:10 - 11:40Respecting Motorists: Automobiles and Motorcycles
Mr. Bill Rhyne, Safety Officer, SC
11:40 - 12:20 p.m.Role of SC Transport Police Regarding Commercial Vehicles
Lieutenant Roy Cloud/Corporal Cato, SC Department of Transport Police
12:20 - 1:00Realities of Driving on the Highway Transportation System (HTS)
Mr. Andy Pilgrim, Expert Driver Trainer
1:00 - 2:00Lunch, visit exhibits, and check door prizes booth
2:00 - 2:15Poster Contest Results
Mrs. Janice Cowen, State Coordinator, Operation Lifesaver
Mr. Eric Robertson, Vendor/Exhibitor, Greenfield, IN
2:15 - 2:30Business Meeting, part 2
Secretary's Report: Mr. Jerry Lloyd, Secretary
Treasurer's Report: Dr. Harry Stille, Treasurer
2:30 - 2:40Closing Remarks
President, Mr. David Smith
President-Elect, Mr. Andrew Johnson