Skip to main content

2014 SCDTSEA Conference Highlights

Better Drivers Make Highways Safer is our theme. A lot can be said about such! I thought of three things.

First, we need more students to teach. Surveys indicate that less than 50% of new drivers receive any formal driver education and/or driver training. No wonder why driving is the number one killer of teenagers! Senator Shane Massey told me that he will reintroduce the bill he tried to get passed last year: for all teenagers to take driver education and/or driver training. We need to help make this a reality!

Second, we all need to do better in our teaching. Studies show that one in three young people crashes in the first six months after they get a license. The fatality rate for drivers age 16-19 is four times that of drivers age 25-69. We need to be as prepared as possible to prepare our students to become better drivers.

Third, we need to consider our vocation as a ministry. Teaching students to get a license is minor, but teaching students to become safe drivers for life is major! We need to make money, but there is more to our vocation than making money. Henry Ford said that “a business that makes nothing but money is a poor business.” Winston Churchill said “we make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give.” My mentor said that “it is one thing to work for a living and another thing to work for a cause.” May we always love what we are doing and know that we are making a difference with our youth!

May we all get a “shot in the arm” from this conference that will help us to produce Better Drivers that will make Highways Safer!

2014 Award Winners

Commercial Driving School of the Year

Hayden's Driving Academy, Cordova

Commercial Driving School Teacher of the Year

Mr. Dan Marsceau, Auto-Safe Driving School, Greenville

Driver Education Teacher of the Year

Mr. Joe Graham, Wilson High School, Florence

Administrator of the Year

Colonel Kevin Shwedo, SCDMV Executive Director

Traffic Safety Officer of the Year

Captain Jim Crawford

Traffic Safety Leadership of the Year

Joe Sabbadino, Teacher and SCDTSEA President

SCDTSEA Award for Outstanding Work

Dr. Harry Stille, Erskine College Professor and SCDTSEA Treasurer

Seat Belt Poster Contest

PlaceWinnerDriving School
1st Place ($150)Jake DorrahMid-Carolina High School, Newberry
2nd Place ($100)Daniel SmitleySabbadino Driving School LLC, Taylors
3rd Place ($50)Elizabeth WestSabbadino Driving School LLC, Taylors